"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, many people consider the treatment of diseases to be too expensive, saying that prevention is better than cure. Furthermore, they believe that it is more appropriate to allocate funds to preventative measures. I completely agree with this statement. However, medical treatment still remains necessary.

On the one hand, preventative measures have evident benefits. For instance, they are more cost-effective compared to treatment. It is cheaper to receive a vaccination than to deal with diseases after contracting them. This is especially beneficial for the older generation, who might not have much money for treatment. In addition, prevention improves public health and reduces disease risk. In other words, the more people are vaccinated, the higher the chances of reducing the risk. This helps improve the health of society as a whole, as fewer people are likely to contract a particular illness.

On the other hand, treatment is still essential for the already existing diseases. Not all illnesses can be prevented or totally stopped with a vaccine. Hence, it is crucial to not only develop the vaccinations, but also to pay attention to the medical treatments. Although many vaccinations exist, some people still have not receive them due to their personal fears and preferences. As a result, it is important to improve treatments to make all people feel confident that they can be healed regardless of the circumstances.

All things considered, prevention measures are far more beneficial than the treatment by their lower costs and higher chances. However, dealing with diseases is important indeed, as this almost fully guarantees a healing.