Taking risks in both professional and personal life is important. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a common assumption that taking risks is crucial both professionally and personally. I tend to support this opinion, and there are two main reasons for that. First, numerous people strive for improving their careers, and because of that being risky might come in handy for those individuals. Second, if you try to take a leap into the unknown, you get out of your comfort zone and might discover new things. However, despite these obvious benefits, I think it is highly important to be aware of some dangers that might await you if you are unreasonably risky.

First and foremost, going out the beaten path might result in something completely unexpected and will benefit an individual in the future. For instance, there are multiple renowned scientists who decided to take a risk centuries ago. And, surprisingly, it led to unimaginable consequences, such as discovering a new physical law or a new planet. It is known that in his life Albert Einstein was an unconventional individual, and people used to think of him as a strange person. However, thanks to this unique passion for novelty, nowadays he is well-known as a person who had a major influence on physics.

Secondly, taking risks is essential for personal development as well. Even if someone is not a prominent individual, it is vitally important to feed our brain with new experiences, which can be derived from trying new things. For example, it is widely known that travelling has a profound effect on people, despite being risky occasionally. Lots of bloggers online describe their experiences as gripping, marvelous, and incomparable. And that is true, as when you go abroad and meet new nations and cultures, you can expand your horizon, see things from a different perspective, and the most important one — challenge yourself. Whether that is skydiving or simply exploring a new city — travelling provides us with an invaluable experience.

However, in spite of these crucial reasons, it is smart to consider possible difficulties that you may encounter when doing risky things. It is significant to know the difference between being adventurous and being recklessly daring. And if not, you might find yourself in a perilous situation, such as people who decide to explore caves and eventually get stuck there and sometimes even die. There was one man who decided to get into a cave, however he took a wrong turn and died. So, while being an extremely exciting activity, it all might turn out not in the way you expect if you do not weigh the risks.

To sum up, taking a step into the unknown may be frightening, however I strongly believe it is the right way to live, as you can level up not only your career, but also develop yourself as an individual. Nevertheless, it is vital to be prudent in order not to put yourself and your life in danger.