TASK 2 (Academic and General Training) You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time? Write at least 250 words.

Friends are extremely important in a person life. Without them a person life will be boring and lonely. Although friends help make a human life meaningful, some friendships can be toxic. There are several characteristics of a great friendship, which include kindness and companionship. Despite all these qualities, if friends betray one another, it could weaken the relationship over time.

Kindness is one of the most important qualities in a friendship. As companions help one another with a task or a request, it helps to foster a stronger relationship between friends. In fact, research shows that by asking another person to help with a request could increase the likelihood of them becoming friends by 20%. Another important characteristic in great a relationship is companionship. Friends do not only spend the great times together, but also the bad times. Great friends will stick by your side no matter what situation you are in. They would provide valuable advise and honest feedback even when you are in the wrong. For instance, my best friend, Ben, who I knew since primary school and have been by best friend ever since, has been standing by my side through thick and thin and providing me with constructive feedback.

Despite all these qualities, if friends are dishonest with one another, it could weaken the relationship over time. Dishonesty is one of the main reasons that friends become strangers. Once a friend lies about something important, the trustworthiness of that person is reduced. If dishonesty occurs several times, it becomes a betrayal. Consequently, the great friendship that took decades to build could be broken off in just a matter of seconds.

In conclusion, qualities like kindness and companionship are important in a great friendship, while dishonesty and betrayal could weaken the friendship over time.