Task 2: Although prisons are widely used, many people believe that education and training are more effective in reducing crime. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Controversies surrounding reducing crime have never ceased. A plethora of people are of the opinion that while prisons are a traditional approach, a more effective long-term method to decrease the rate of crime is equipped with education and training. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement due to several reasons shown below.

A key reason why training and education are more effective is that they address the root cause of crime. Many offenders, especially juveniles or pick pockets, come from poor backgrounds, lacking emotional, education, employment opportunities and a supportive network. Simply incarcerating them does nothing to solve these underlying issues. Instead, providing them access to education and essential skills can offer a constructive alternative solution. For instance, a person who learns a carpentry or computer programme when in prison will have a much better chance to secure employment upon release from prison. This brings them awareness of purpose and a legitimate way to earn a living. Moreover, it also helps these individuals reintegrate into society, lead law-abiding lives, and significantly drops the criminal rate.

While I believe that education and training can be a fundamental solution to mitigate crime, it is crucial to acknowledge the vital role of prison in society. Firstly, prison plays an important role as a deterrent action for many people, sending a clear message that offenders will have severe consequences. More importantly,without prisons, society would descend into chaos, and citizens would feel anxious about having to live in an unsafe country. However, this is where the advantage of prison often ends. One of the biggest failures of the prison system is the still high rate of recidivism in many countries. This demonstrates that incarcerating is not really effective, it can sometimes make people more aggressive and violent than before. Additionally, operating the prison system requires a huge budget from the government, while this money could be better invested in education programmes, job training, and crime prevention.

In conclusion, while prisons are essential for ensuring public safety, they are not the most effective method to reduce crime rates. The core of the matter is that the government must invest in and develop education more strongly. By providing offenders with the skills and knowledge that they need to build a better life, we not only give them a second chance, but also create a safer and more stable community for everyone.