Task 2: In recent years, technological advancements have significantly changed the way people live and work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over recent decades, major advances have occurred in technology. Public opinion believes in both the positive and negative sides of technology equally. Though the disadvantages of technology are significant, on the other side, the advantages couldn’t be neglected either. In this essay, both merits and demerits will be discussed.

To begin with, a significant change that technology has made is comfort and easiness in people’s lives in recent years. Nowadays, most things are available online. Also, some individuals can stay at home and do their jobs, which is called remote work. Moreover, by using various gadgets, there is no need to leave our houses for shopping or public services, so time and money can easily be saved consequently. Furthermore, new features of technology, such as green energy and electric vehicles, allow countries to save their ecosystems and be able to fight against climate change.

On the contrary, some critics exist toward technology and its usage on a huge scale. The environmental crisis caused by technology in recent decades is a crucial issue among societies. A lack of vision in using fossil fuels and producing harmful vehicles in large numbers has resulted in a global crisis, which has endangered our planet’s future. After all, another common issue is laziness among modern societies, which causes several side effects. According to statistics, being active during the day can reduce the probability of diseases and guarantee your health in old age, while being sedentary can increase the risk of chronic illnesses, especially in adolescents, for instance, blood pressure and heart attacks.

To accumulate all the mentioned information above, it seems that despite all defects, technology’s profits could outweigh all its drawbacks due to plenty of reasons. I personally believe technology has benefited more than what some people have claimed it has caused damage.