Task 2: In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own vegetables and fruit. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions diverge widely over the change of public parks and open spaces. While many people hold the school of thought that the advantages of replacing public parks and open spaces with gardens where local residents have permission to cultivate plants, and vegetables have an edge over the disadvantages, others presume otherwise. This essay will offer a multifaceted account of the above-mentioned conflict before elucidating my personal stance which coincides with the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, helping local residents have a particular self-supply food source is the merit of converting public places into gardens. Public parks or open spaces belong to everyone. However, should it be substituted for private land, it could serve the owner’s purpose, which is planting fruit, which is useful in helping them have a fresh self-supply source. Hence, people may improve their financial aspects and their food quality. Particularly, as long as each person has a tiny plot to grow plants, they are available to supply themselves with free vegetable sources for their family, which may satisfy the demands of citizens. As a result, people do not need to worry about food problems.

On the other hand, I presume the aforementioned viewpoint totally single-minded. There are also demerits to this topic, which is the loss of public space for entertainment. As a matter of fact, general public land areas are inherently built in the intent of that all people can use it as a common property. In other words, a sense of community or the priority of mutual interest is what governments or founders toward. Thus, in case public spaces are shifted to become private ones, they will lose the foremost and core value that is for communal amusement lands of people. Furthermore, it even may spark conflicts among citizens in the light of reverse opinions about the use of public areas. The park system of Japan is a testament that perfectly exemplifies this phenomenon. In this country, no matter where citizens live, there are open spaces around them that is for them to go picnic, do exercises, or such activities given that people uphold social benefits of such places instead of the private ones. As a result, there are not only areas for people but also hamper conflicts among them.

All in all, while replacing public spaces with gardens where local people can grow their own vegetables or fresh food, from one side, may bring them some corroborative advantages, i presume that its disadvantages overshadow the benefits