Task 2: In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own vegetables and fruit. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that the replacement of green places in several cities with gardens for vegetable and fruit growing purposes is a heated discussion. This writer believes that the disadvantages of adverse environmental impact and lack of space for outdoor activities eclipse the advantage of connecting people.

To begin with, there are some drawbacks to eliminating land for open spaces and public parks for planting herbs, as it can influence the environment, and residents need more space for their outdoor activities. For the former, growers must ensure their quality by using pesticides and insecticides while growing agricultural products. This is because the leaves of plants are the most nutrient source of food, which can lead to the fact that those leaves are being eaten if people do not apply anti-pest chemicals into practice. Once there is no strict management from the officials, the residents can overuse them and need to learn how to process them properly after using them. This can result in the discharge of those toxins into the atmosphere, causing the worse condition of air pollution.

They are, moreover, planting products relating to agriculture instead of trees in local parks, which resorts to the need for more land for other activities, such as outdoor ones. It is acknowledged that due to the explosion in population, citizens are now facing the obstacle of insufficient vacant land for houses and space for vegetable and fruit plants. For that reason, the governments should distribute purposes for each region suitably by encouraging people to grow herbs in the rural areas, making inner-city areas for activities, namely exercises and picnics, so there will be a dramatic improvement in dwellers’ well-being and welfare.

However, there are a few benefits from growing fruits and vegetables locally; the most noticeable is the connection between individuals. It is valid that a particular land is mutual, and every resident contributes their attempts to grow the herbs. When they are in the same place and doing similar actions, such as watering or spraying chemicals, there will be an increasing rate of citizens communicating with each other, raising the advent of plenty of conversations relating to the same interests. Therefore, more and more dwellers can be connected by discussing similar topics. For example, 50% of locals have new friends after doing a mutual activity.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of linking relationships, the downsides of a negative effect on surroundings and no vacant land for open-air actions still outweigh the benefits.