• Task 2: In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, information was written in books; in contrast, these days, people have a tendency to store knowledge on the Internet. In my opinion, this trend has more benefits than before, even though it does not fully meet all individuals’ expectations.

To begin with, storing knowledge on the Internet allows us to access this data far and wide at any moment. No matter where our geographical locations are, people can read and learn this knowledge without delay. Moreover, we avoid the limitations of memory and some complicated errors that are impossible to fix because the memory capacity of smart devices is virtually unlimited for users. Furthermore, it can correct errors to identify the most effective solution. For example, if the information takes a long time to load, the computer will automatically provide a quick solution for us.

Secondly, our data can be removed effortlessly. Nowadays, many businesses are concerned about the removal of their extensive data as a result of spending a great amount of time doing so. Thus, thanks to the Internet, we can easily transfer data between folders. In addition, the network offers advanced security features such as password protection, fingerprint identification, and facial recognition. If we store our knowledge in books, many people can plagiarize or steal the data and even use it as their own. Besides, our knowledge will not be affected by severe weather conditions such as blizzards, typhoons, and storms.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that knowledge stored online is far more advantageous than that stored in books, such as updating, removing, and accessing, despite accepting troubles as they come.