Task 2: Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have differing views on the academic paths; some believe they should enrol in higher academic platforms, while others think people should do vocational training to address the lack of qualified workers. This essay will explain why I partly agree that many people should attend universities.

In terms of vocational training, electricians or other trades offer a significant workforce for buildings and maintenance. Many facilities have departments specifically for maintaining electrical machinery or other infrastructure problems. Thus, skilled tradesmen are vital in ensuring safety in the work environment. An obvious example is in India, a 2020 survey by the Ministry of Skill Development indicates that nearly 40% of government schools were postponed due to the chronic shortage of plumbing and electrical repairs, which puts students’ safety at risk. Furthermore, the unemployment rate among jobs that require an intellectual academic status stagnates the national economy. If people all enrolled in universities, it would create an imbalance between intellectual and manual workers. For instance, in France, a 2021 report by Pôle Emploi described that graduate unemployment reached 14% while over 25% of skilled trade vacancies in plumbing, electrical, and carpentry sectors remained unfilled. Consequently, this creates an imbalance between intellectual and manual workers, which slows infrastructure development. Ultimately, this reduces overall economic productivity by declining work productivity through shortages in maintaining infrastructural practices and worsening work environments.

Regarding university entries, the university offers crucial development. University education fosters critical thinking and innovation. As for higher academic studies, students can acquire analytical skills, research abilities and theoretical knowledge that vocational training may not provide. These skills are essential for technological developments and scientific breakthroughs, such as astronomical knowledge aids for space programs. For example, countries such as South Korea or China have a high proportion of university graduates, which explains their rapid technological advancements in electronics, engineering and various fields. This indicates a strong economic growth. Additionally, university graduates often pursue higher-paying and less physically demanding jobs. Since academic study opens doors to professions, jobs such as doctors or IT specialists require minimal physical attributes and offer great salaries, as well as more comfortable working conditions. In addition, with more and more work experience, workers are ensured with a long-term career stability. For instance, a 2022 survey in the UK by the Office for National Statistics indicates that the average annual salary for engineering graduates was 38,000£, compared to that of skilled tradesmen with only 28,000£. While intellectual workers stay in comfortable environments, skilled tradesmen operate in physically demanding and hazardous conditions.

In conclusion, although both sides offer valid arguments, I believe that both academic study and vocational training should be prioritised equally. Both intellectual and manual workers offer a vital cog in an operative environment. A balanced approach may be the most effective solution in the end.