Task 2: Parents are delaying childbirth nowadays more than in the older days. Why is this? Do the advantages of late childbirth outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, a phenomenon recognised in parents is that they are delaying childbirth more significantly than in the past. This essay will outline the reasons for the delay and the advantages and disadvantages.

Regarding the causes behind the postpone, social development brings various aspects for parents to balance. In detail, economic pressure and the cost of living crisis are the most frequent problems for today’s parents. In simple terms, housing prices near cities are rising due to immigration to the city, which makes houses near the central area more competitive and costly. Additionally, various expenses like childcare and job insecurity make young couples postpone parenthood to avoid financial strains. To illustrate, the combined cost of raising a child to age 18 in the UK and Japan exceeded $200000, which makes couples delay childbirth until they are financially secure. Furthermore, people chase their career ambitions and higher education. Society is becoming more competitive, and pursuing dreams and professional fulfilment first increases the chances of having a well-paying job. This encourages young graduates to prioritise postgraduate degrees and career advancement before settling down. For instance, the average age of first-time mothers in South Korea increased from 27 in 2000 to 33 in 2023, according to the K-Statistic Bureau. This indicates that women pursue postgraduate degrees and work full-time.

In terms of pros and cons, having a child too late may cause health complications and generational problems. Due to late pregnancies, the child’s health risks increase in fertility issues, miscarriage and genetic abnormalities such as Down syndrome. Regarding the generational gap, older parents often struggle to catch up with their children’s modern lifestyles. Kids often absorb fast, whether it’s the trendy social media acts, knowledge or social norms. They all contribute to forming the child’s characteristics and personality. This makes parents feel overwhelmed and worn out. For example, women over 35 are twice as likely to experience complications during childbirth compared to younger mothers in Singapore. Conversely, late childbirth ensures financial stability and moral preparedness. Older parents have spent most of their youth developing financial stability to ensure a healthy environment for childbirth. In the meantime, they become more responsible, emotionally mature and prepared for childbirth, which provides a better upbringing and educational opportunities. An obvious example is a study done by The Guardian in 2022, which revealed that older parents’ children perform 15% better in school. This indicates higher parental investment for children in older parents.

In conclusion, while having a late childbirth can be dangerous for the child’s health, the favourable upbringing conditions and educational opportunities for the child outweigh the disadvantages.