Task 2: People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

During the contemporary society, increased reoffending rates and growing concern of penal system are gaining attention. However, I believe that there are several reasons to fuel the ex-prisoners to their reoccurrence behaviours and this issue can be addressed by helping them reintegrate towards the society.

First and foremost, the core factor contributing to the major issue is the lack of social reintegration or retreat from formal employment, which led to economic vulnerability. For instance, many studies found that high unemployment rate among ex-prisoners demands them to re-engage with their illegal occupation for the living, which fuels them to perpetuate the cycle of poverty and crime. In addition, as the social standard acceptant towards these prisoners get higher, they might have the fear of social rejection. To be more detailed, the studies conclude that 70% of the ex-convicts feel uncomfortable while living in the society, where they always witness people have inappropriate insight and criticism about them, and this belief might lead to the emotional stigma and contribute to their psychological illnesses.

To cope with this problem, the government should take responsibility to organize vocational training programs to create opportunities for a stable job. Obviously, as people have sufficient salary to cover their living expense, they will not cross the moral line to engage in the illegal jobs to hustle. Furthermore, high social standard acceptance might act as an obstacle to separate the ex-prisoners to reintegrate into the society. To tackle, a proper mechanism are needed to revive social relationships and the government should enact some laws to prioritize the prisoners after reintegration.

To conclude, the situation in which the number of the ex-convicts are likely to reoffend is currently growing. In fact, this is to blame for the lacking opportunity to eliminate the social acceptance towards these targets and the unsuccessful attempt to prevent the unhealthy surrounding environment. However, the viable methods to alleviate this issue is to create more opportunity for integration, erasing the socially unaccepted concept towards the prisoners. Last but not least, to enhance the society, people should have the open-minded mindset of the prisoners and prevent to be too extremely strict about putting the society standard on them.