Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, some people have opinions that it is environmental contamination and housing issues that lead to illness and diseases so the authority should tackle on those problem as the main priorities. While I agree that those problems are the factors of spreading the diseases, I do not agree they should be a main point of concentration.

There are many compelling reasons why the governments should use their time on other methods to prevent illness instead of resolve pollution and housing issues. From a personal perspective, solving those problems are not long-terms solutions as they are external matters that the authority can’t control. For instances, if environments were clean but citizens didn’t have good awareness, pollution is prompt to be happened because people will just litter again.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned disadvantages of the above paragraph, I am of the opinion that the governments should have some measures to keep pollution and housing problems to acceptable degree. In recent advances, the rise in the number of factories and technologies can be seen as a negative development as it increases the amount of filth emitted to surrounding. Due to that, keeping the pollution in control not only prevent the ideal condition for diseases to thrive but it also help people to become healthier. To take the Japaneses as an example, they live in where most people all have conscious about their environments and take well care of them helping the citizens to live a long live without facing much of diseases and illness.

In conclusion, while solving the housing problem and pollution are not bad idea to help avoiding sickness, they should not be the main priorities for the authority to concentrate due to being problems that can’t be totally controlled.