Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is assumed that the prevention of sickness requires governments to prioritize lessoning polluted environment and housing issues. From the writer’s perspective, I totally agree with the idea.

Commencing with environmental contamination, the reduction is needful since the pollution is one of the main reasons leading to different ailments. For instance, if the water is polluted, contaminants in it may be adverse to inhabitants, causing the deterioration of users’ health. On the other hand, air contamination provokes respiratory and cardiovascular infections such as nose inflammation, pneumonia and stroke, which are acute and severely lethal.

As for housing issues, they are also the cause of different diseases. To exemplify, an obvious crisis like overcrowding is worsening citizen’s life, since the distance between each houses are decreasing, so whenever a new infection emerges, the chance of it spreading rapidly is gradually increasing, too. Homelessness is also a serious problem that government should solve, as homeless people have to deal with malnutrition and poverty, they are more likely to be infected with tuberculosis, HIV, hepatitis, etc.

In conclusion, in order to prevent sickness, reducing pollution in the environment and housing issues are strongly needful due to the fact that they are main causes of many diseases.