Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Indeed, prevention is better than cure, but prevention in right direction is equally essential. Most of the diseases are now spread because of unhealthy life style adopted by most of us, which leads to obessity and other multiple problems. It weakens our immune system and allows the germs like bacteria and virus to attack easily. Besides, actions against environmental pollution and solving housing problems will only tighten the fiscal budget of governments because these are never ending problems and generally more among the control of individuals not the governments. On the other hand, rasing awareness amongst masses about advantages of healthy life style and promoting physical activities will definitely help in prevention of illness and diseases. India is pertinent example where traditional physical excercise,”Yoga”, has helped in boosting immunity and curing the uncurable major diseases.

Besides, many resources have already been spend by different governments on resolving housing issues and environmental degradation but all have lead to no fruitful results. Now, it is essential that governments should now focus more on mass vaccinations or other such treatements which can help in preventing the spread of diseases. One successful example is the action against Polio virus disease. In 1984, more than five hundrend thousands polio virus cases were detected across the world but this number has reduced to just less than hundrend now.

To sum up, actions against environmental pollution and housing problems have never resulted positively, but mass awareness among masses regarding the healthy life style and universal vaccination will assist governments in preventing spread of deadly diseases and illness.