TASK 2: Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided as to whether history has little to nothing to offer for the modern world or whether it can give a better understanding of today’s world. While I understand those claiming that history is irrelevant, I side with the latter point of view, as we have a lot to learn from the past.

On the one hand, critics point to the irrelevance of history to the present. They posit that modern life is worlds apart from the past and there is no clear connection between them. For example, historically countries were kingdoms and ruled by kings and queens, which have now transformed into governments, consisting of democracies, republics and other political systems. This means that something used in the past, such as rules and legislation, may not be suitable to the modern world, highlighting the absence of a link between the past and the present. From this perspective, history might seem irrelevant to this day.

On the other hand, opponents argue that history is inextricably entwined with the present and can serve as a guide for people, especially for younger generations. For instance, there were constant wars, with countries fighting in an attempt to conquer one another. As a result, such invasions often came at a high cost for both parties, with many innocent people killed for no valid reasons. Such wars and historical events can act as a lesson for people, underscoring the importance of peace, friendship and collaboration. If individuals were to simply neglect the past, such wars would continue to this day. Thus, the importance of history should not be undermined.

To conclude, whilst some believe that history is not of vital importance to the modern world, I remain convinced that it can serve as an invaluable life lesson for people. Only when we learn our history and understand it deeply can we build successful societies and make the world a better place to live.