Task 2: The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashions in clothes and other consumer goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that some individuals cannot help but be prone to copy one another, especially in clothing styles and other prodcuts. While humans also imitate each other in other aspects, I tend to agree with this notion because, people repeat what others do subconsciously and human beings avoid standing out in society at all costs.

It has been suggested that popularity of fashion in clothes and other commodities are the alternative choices when a person wants to copy others. However, some people choose not to follow the flock as they believe that not everything that has been done by society means they ought to do it too. Furthermore, people who refuse to wear up-to-date clothes just because it was encouraged by celebrities reckon that this may be a trap since companies pay for famous people to advertise their clothes and products. Having said that, people may imitate others in another way, for example, they can copy someone’s behaviour, how they act or even their voice. But it is not a popular copying activity that everyone does, because not only it is difficult but also it might be too obvious, thus has a possibility of ruining their reputation if they are caught repeating others’ life completely. Moreover, if a person is a copycat to this extend, they will not have their own identity, making their life meaningless.

On the flip side, many others have claimed that wearing clothes that are worn by everyone else is indeed an example of copying one another. For instance, whenever a celebrity or an influencer dresses in some particular style, their fans and normal people will be attracted to that clothing and immediately have the desire to buy it. This trend can be seen when it comes to buying certain products as well. If some kind of product is newly trendy and everyone is buying it, those who have not yet bought this thing will also purchase the item to blend in with the society. It can be caused by fear of missing out, also known as FOMO. An individual cannot stand not to go with the flow as there is a saying, “Society forgives a person who is wrong with the majority, but it never forgives one who is right alone”. This statement indicates that people tend to follow what majority does, such as one particular behaviour or trends on social media that people repeat even if it is wrong morally.

It is said that humans show a proclivity of copying by imitating others’ style of clothing and other items. Despite copying one another can be seen in other situations, I agree with this statement because fashion and buying products are the best way to point out people’s copying tendency.