Technology is making people more isolated than ever before. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that innovation has caused persons separated from each other in society. I totally agree with the view that technological advancement, particularly revolutionary social media has played vital role in this regard. In this essay, I will argue how social media has influenced the whole society followed by a logical conclusion.

One of the main reasons of this is the evolution of social media such as Facebook, Instagram, Tiktok etc. especially in the last decade. A decade ago, the social media was only accessible through regular computers or laptops, its use became viral in the last decade with smart phones enhancement, made it possible to access and use social media easily. The use of smart phone has been increased so as the social media and individuals started surfing it intermittently. As a result, use of smart phones and applications of social media became a part of people’s life. On one side, the social media or innovative technology is the source of entertainment, which consume a lot of time and on the other side, people have found it easy to interact through these apps rather than to meet in person. This shift in the society has separated people from each other. For instance, two decades ago, people relied on CD/DVD, VCR and TV and it was also not easily accessible. So, people had to gather to watch movies or any sports event in someone’s home who had this facility, in this way people were close to each other.

Secondly, these days the public spend much of their time using modern technology playing video games because it’s readily available built in the smart phones. Long ago, when someone had to play a video game, he had to go to video games centers or to use desktop computers and it was happening in a certain period of time. So, there was plenty of time left for people to socialize and interact with each other. Unlike the old generation’s people were more extrovert compared to the current period where the new generation is being more and more introverted due to increased use of modern technology.

To conclude, it is true that modern technology has brought a revolution in society and made it easy to interact with each other remotely. However, on the other hand, it has individualized society considerably. Hence, it can be said that advancement in technology has caused isolation in community considerably.