‘Telecommuting’ refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

Since the dawn of time, humans were striving to balance their working-life with their personal life. Nowadays, due to the advancements in technology, numerous companies have the propensity for having remote workers. From my point of view, the perks of this approach definitely outweigh the disadvantages of it in many aspects. This essay will discuss it is being prevalent these days because it is environmental-friendly and beneficial for their personal lives.

Firstly, this can be highly beneficial for the environment. Because working from home can significantly reduce the demand for all modes of transportation. Therefore, governments can render variety of practical solutions to effectively encourage the businesses to provide a condition for its employees to work remotely. So that, various expenses may become decreased and even they can consider it as an investment. For example, a plethora of studies shows that the expenditure of industries and businesses that tend to prevent unnecessary employees’ presence will be reduced by around 20%.

Secondly, it can help personal lives and mental health of individuals and their families. This happens because the more humans spend time with their family, it can leads to their strength of their relationships with their partners or children will considerably improves. Hence, the more one’s mental hygiene is contributed, the efficiency they can have in their work-place.

On the other hand, lack of face to face communication can negatively affects the social skills and communicational skills of individuals which can be detrimental in all aspects of one’s life which should not be underestimated.

In conclusion, although there might be some minor disadvantages such as communicational issues, there are definitely some rational and financial reasons which can definitely reciprocate its cons. Moreover, because it is prolific for environment and mental health of workers, some effective policies should be taken to successfully address and rectify this issue.