The best way for a government to prepare for the future is to invest resources in its young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that investing resources in young generations is the most efficient approach for the government to prepare for the future. From my perspective, I partially agree with this assumption due to various reasons which I will mention subsequently.

Undeniably, this strategy would have some repercussions due to the generation gap and unforeseen risks. Regarding the former, the mindset of senior citizens may be distinct from the younger ones, which led from the different previous education and prejudices. The distinction in thinking would make some decisions being not suitable for the children, acting as a precursor to wasted financial budget. With respect to the latter, future predictions and ensuring which tendencies or events would occur are currently impossible, the resources would be invested in wrong aspects, which mean they are no longer vital in the century. For instance, industrial workers were a common and popular occupation thanks to the immense demands for this field, however being overloaded nowadays due to the proliferation of technology.

However, I still believe that this is an efficient measure for the government to prepare for the future. Humans are the fabric of a nation, investing in facilities and cultivation for the young generations would create a stable human resources for the country. These strategies would enhance the quality of fundamental knowledge, skills and health for children, ensuring an optimal development for them, increasing their academic performances and even career prospects. Thanks to firm foundation, their living standards would be improved, stimulating the development of the national economy. China is a prime example, where the economy skyrocketed thanks to the previous investment in education for the young generation in the 80s, maintaining constant human resources. Despite the risks, improving the ability of children overall confers substantial benefits for themselves, family and the nation subsequently.

In conclusion, despite the risks when the government invests an abundant national budget in their youngsters, I am convinced that this strategy would be an optimal approach to lay a firm foundation for the national future.