The best way to improve health is to do regular exercise. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Good health is the most crucial part of our lives we should focus on. It is said that frequent exercise is the most suited way to improve well-being. From my perspective, exercise plays an important role in enhancing physical and mental health.

In the physical health aspect, it helps you to live longer and prevents obesity. Many elderly people who surpassed the average life expectancy are people who have done a significant amount of physical activity throughout their lifespan. Additionally, in modern society, obesity is one of the most serious health issues which often leads to cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, etc. A study has shown that consistently doing some kind of physical activity prevents over sixty different types of diseases. However, misconception of seeing it only as a way of weight loss is common among the general public. While it is an effective method to lose weight many people expect results without committing to doing it daily.

Mentally-ill patients are recommended to work out daily to lower stress. Doing workouts such as yoga, pilates, and strength training releases dopamine which is a hormone that produces emotions of happiness and satisfaction. Furthermore, it is a good way to cope with stress while also preventing more serious mental health problems such as depression and anxiety. Research has proven that exercising for a small amount of time over several months lessens the symptoms of mental health illness.

To summarise, exercising consistently brings many benefits physically such as preventing obesity and many illnesses as well as helping us live longer. Mental health benefits are reducing stress levels and being helpful for those who suffer from depression and anxiety.