The best way to improve health is to do regular exercise. To what extent do you agree?

In recent decades, there has been a growing awareness regarding the importance of health, prompting people to adopt various strategies to enhance their well-being. While some argued that daily exercise is the best way to enhance health, I contend that there are other equally important alternatives.

The benefits of continuous exercise regimen, practised at appropriate intensity and methods, are undeniable. Aerobic workouts optimize the body’s metabolic processes, whereas anaerobic exercises enhance muscle strength. An improved metabolism indicates a burning of excessive calories, which help reduce excessive blood glucose and fats that are detrimental to our health. Adequate exercise training also plays a cardioprotective role by normalizing blood pressure, reducing weight, and exerting potent antioxidative effects. Notably, exercise also improves mental health due to its anxiolytic properties.

However, I disagree that daily exercise is the “best” way to improve health. You are what you eat. A balanced and healthy diet is equally imperative as it provides various essential nutrients for growth, development and cellular repair. Food rich in antioxidants, such as tomatoes, blueberries and oranges, also boosts our immunity. Besides, sufficient sleep and rest enhance health by facilitating the rejuvenation of aged cells and toxin removal from the brain. Studies also revealed that sleeping is helpful in alleviating mental stress. Lastly, avoiding deleterious habits and lifestyle, such as binge drinking, smoking and overindulgence in calorie-dense food, is also of utmost importance in enhancing health.

In conclusion, while I recognize the significance of daily exercise training in promoting health, the benefits of other ways should also be appreciated. The best way always involves a comprehensive and multifaceted set of strategies.