The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

While some people think that the best way to learn about another culture is to learn the language, others believe there are another and more effective ways to discover different way of life. Personally, I disagree with the point that learning language is the most effective way to understand another culture.

A common argument in favor of learning language is the best way to understand the culture is that customs, taboos and worldviews of each nation are encoded in their language which makes it possible to understand social norms and traditions by video, articles and social media. In addition, it allows the spectrum for recognizing the real meaning of idioms, humor and tones without translation in which they often tend to lose their touches. A prime example of this is Japanese language include several tones for politeness which is represent their culture of respect. Therefore, even if language can be an indispensable tool, it is not necessarily the best or only way to understand the heritage.

Notwithstanding this view, I believe that hands-on exposure to a nation through travelling can help to interact with a culture on a deeper level. By experiencing the real-life excursion in the city, such as, tasting the local food, interact with people and visiting destinations with cultural heritage can provide a better understanding of their culture. For instance, by visiting the India and experiencing their colorful festivals, cultural traditions and disparity of religion people can fully understand the culture of society, which languages alone cannot provide.

Taking everything into account, leaning a language can play one of the key roles in understanding the culture, but not as an only way or best way. Interact with people, experiencing everything in real life by travelling always give the real understanding the culture.