The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently?

In today’s business world, lack of motivation among employees is a major issue that should be solved by managers. Motivation is a crucial support for all employees to increase their work efficiency at the workplace. Moreover to get maximum work efficiency from employees , it is necessary to motivate them and make sure that they are happy and there are many ways to fulfill this task. Overall, some people believe that the best way to keep employees motivated is to increase their salary. I personally believe that increasing an employee’s salary is a great way to motivate him/her and there are also many ways for employers to keep workers motivated, such as creating a comfortable working environment, increasing vacation days, decreasing working hours. And with all these kind of improvements in a workplace, the work efficiency will be much higher than it was before due to the morale boost that come with the changes in the work area. My reasons regarding this situation will be explained in the following sentences.

First of all, increasing employees’ pay is a successful way to motivate them. However, it is not efficient enough to simply increase salaries, for example, paying higher salaries to the stressed and overworked employees will not motivate them at all and their work efficiency will not improve at all if they are simply paid more under harsh working conditions.

Secondly, there are many ways for an employer to increase the morale of his/her employees besides increasing salaries and one of them is to make the workplace a more comfortable area which will greatly boost the morale of the employees and improve the performance of the employees. Moreover, in order to make employees feel comfortable enough, employers should make changes such as, enlarging and improving common rooms if there is available and relaxing dress code.

As a result, increasing employees’ salaries is a decent way to motivate them. Nevertheless,there are many options that managers can consider to encourage workers to work more efficiently and I believe that managers should take a balanced approach and not just try to increase payments to employees to encourage them without implementing other ways to motivate them.