The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently?

Nowadays, companies tend to motivate their employees by providing them some useful advantages and it is often believed that increasing their salaries is the best way to motivate them. Personally, I do not agree with this idea. There are other beneficial ways to encourage them to work more effectively.

On the one hand, salary increment is not always good idea to encourage an employee to work more efficiently. Moreover, high amount of salary can chain employees to works that they don’t like which can create a dependency. Nowadays, many people who have good career and salary are experiencing some other problems such as burn out, stress, anxiety etc. For example, many people who have good careers in Istanbul are always complaining about work, life, traffic and crowd in Istanbul and they have more chaotic, busy lifestyle. On the contrary, people live in Anatolia have less important career and job but they are happier and leading quieter lifestyle. Therefore, making people motivated with salary increment may not be the most effective way.

On the other hand, there are many useful things that encourage workers to do their job. Companies should be more open and insightful towards their workers. They should organize different kinds of activities which make the company more popular, social and effective among employees such as birthdays, picnics, tours, meetings, seminars etc. Also, they can create a welcoming and celebration kits for workers that make them feel motivated and remembered. These kinds of activities connect people together and provide better work environment. For example, everyone who works at Turkish Airlines, get a welcoming kit or celebration cards from CEO. Therefore, there are plenty of ways to foster employees’ motivation and commitment to their company.

As a result, salary is not the only thing that motivates the people at work. Companies should consider other type of motivation sources. In my opinion, CEO or Manager of a company should be more active among employees to create a better and effective work environment.