The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that raising fuel prices is the foremost method of solving environmental problems. While acknowledging the reasons for this proposal, I would argue that there are other superior solutions.

Granted, proponents of increasing fuel costs might argue based on the basic economic principle of supply and demand. Higher fuel prices, they say, would lead to a reduction in demand for fossil fuels, which would be synonymous with lower CO2 emissions – one of the chief contributors to global warming and air pollution. However, this perspective overlooks our current heavy reliance on fossil fuels, as evidenced by almost all vehicles still use gasoline. This means modifying their prices would have a negligible bearing on demand for them and, by extension, the environmental status quo. It is also noteworthy that many environmental problems like deforestation are largely unrelated to fuel consumption, so an increase in fuel prices could hardly improve the situation.

Given the aforementioned limitations, I am convinced that the following measures would be more effective in tackling environmental challenges. First, it is imperative that greener alternatives to fossil fuels be developed and made more commonplace. This could be key to reducing our reliance on the latter as a source of energy, leading to reduced volumes of carbon dioxide emitted. Such a measure should be executed in tandem with imposing more stringent regulations on environmental protection. For example, illegal loggers should receive life sentences rather than a fine or a few months in prison. Such drastic actions could go a long way towards deterring other people from causing damage to the surroundings, thereby protecting the environment without having to interfere with the energy market.

To summarize, I would contend that levying higher prices on fossil fuels would fail to produce a discernible change in environmental problems, and that these problems could be countered more effectively by immensely investing in green energy and introducing stricter environmental policies.