The best way to solve traffic and transport problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than in surburbs or countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether encouraging individuals to live in cities instead of rural areas and outskirts is the best method for addressing traffic and transportation problem is a complex and multifaceted one. While there are arguments that suggest it would brings shortcomings for both cities’ and countrysides’ advancements, I personally believe that individuals and societies can benefit by doing so.

Advocates of negative effects of more people living in cities often argue that there would be an increasingly significant amount of citizens to buy private cars, considering the long distance, from home to supermarkets and parks, and convenience of purchasing and travelling. Consequently, the overall traffic in cities can get more and more congested due to the rise of vehicle numbers. Proponents also contend that this step can accelerate the shortage of labor force in suburbs and countrysides. Following the brain drain, there would be less individuals to take trains or drive on high ways, shuttling between rural areas. As a result, the economy growth of suburbs and villages can not be promoted, by toll stations and restaurants and groceries along the railway.

Despite the marginal shortcomings of encouraging people to settle down in cities, I concur with those who assert that dealing with this problem through this way is an informed and advisable proposal. Above all, plenty of major cities already establish well-developed public transit networks, from metro lines to railroad tracks, enabling citizens to commute more conveniently, by taking undergrounds and buses. Contrarily, if workers live in outskirts, where are lack of access to transportation, they have to be suburban commuters by means of private cars, leading the traffic congestion between the roads of downtown and outskirts. Furthermore, more employed worker living in urban areas can avoid the expansion of transport lines in rural areas. In turn, this would free governments’ excessive financial assistance, as villages’ traffic construction, due to complex terrain, must be difficulty to cope with. Also, stopping to expand traffic lines is beneficial on reduction of occupying the cultivated land and consequent noise and air pollution.

In conclusion, although the solution of increasing urban residents for resolving the transportation issue has certain adverse influences on countryside like economy development, I strongly claim that this sound way can play a vital role in providing young workers with commute convenience and mitigating traffic jam on roads.