The best way to solve traffic and transport problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than in surburbs or countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the most effective way to tackle traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities instead of suburbs or countryside. This essay disagrees as live in cities even could bring more negative effects for transporation in general.

Firstly, cities especially in big countries already being too crowded with traffic jams everywhere. Many people have their own private vehicle as they are probably seeking for comfort rather than utilizing public transportation. In a greater extent, this results in traffic and people are usually get stuck on the way back home. Additionally, the government step to provides public transportation seems to not working effectively as the supplies have not met the demand yet. For example, Jakarta has a lot of Transjakarta operates everyday, but turns out people are often do not get enough space to sit or even stand in it.

Secondly, living in cities is overrated. The most popular reason to live in cities is because they want to get a decent job and pursue their career well. However, it makes people in countries are not equally distributed. Furthermore, there are too many suburbans get left behind although they probably have potential surrounding for people to live. For example, since the Covid-19 pandemic many companies already implemented Work From Home method for their employees, and reside in suburbans or countryside might be the possible alternative way to still get sufficient salary and decrease transportation problems.

In conclusion, to overcome traffic and transportation issues is not possible by encouraging them to live in cities as it indeed bring more problems to the table. Otherwise, provide encouragement for people to reside in suburbans or countryside might be better.