The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people argue that the most effective way to teach children cooperation is through team sports at school. While this concept offers many benefits for children, I completely agree with this statement.

Undeniably, there are many opportunities for children learning cooperation with team sports, such as responsibility, leadership, sharing and communication. Firstly, children have the same goal to win in competition, they work together for this aim and this situation teach children that success depends on collective effort rather than individual performance. They become realise one person’s mistake influences the team, and they learn to be more responsible. Concurrently, working with team sports also improves communication skills; for example, children talking to each other, develop a strategy, and solve problems together. Therefore, this is a real experience of cooperation. Moreover, this also improves some skills, such as responsibility and role allocation. They understand to each player has their own position, this teaches children everyone is important and individual role affects the success of team.

On the other hand, working with a team teaches them conflict management. There are some issues during the game such as disagreement, losing, and high emotions. Meanwhile, children learn to stay calm and also listening to the other side, which is the foundation of the collaboration.

In conclusion, the most beneficial and convenient way to teach children cooperation is through team sports at school. I strongly believe that these activities practically teach them to work towards a common goal, take responsibility, and communicate with each other.