The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Appreciating positive actions does encourage positive habits, and some students are also inclined to ameliorate their actions when their negative actions are ignored. However, this strategy is not universal, and sometimes ignoring someone’s wrongdoings encourages him to continue his or her actions. Therefore, I believe that the best way to teach is to correct the negative actions rather than ignore them, in addition to praising the positive actions.

The purpose of teaching is not limited to inculcating positive habits but to enabling him to be a part of society, as today’s children are tomorrow’s future. For instance, if a child is good at getting scores, however, he is rude and a bully. Is ignoring his behaviour in his interest? And what will happen when he becomes a manager in an organisation? How will he treat his peers and colleagues? Will his subordinates be comfortable with him? Hence, the correction of the negative actions is equally important as praising the positive ones.

There is no doubt that motivation for good deeds and discouragement of wrongdoing are effective in special circumstances, but this cannot be generalized. Although some individuals are good at improving themselves without any help, there are others who need guidance to improve themselves. Improving the wrong actions of a person does not mean rebuttal, scolding, or insulting, but rather preventing them from happening. Taking the example of a bully, if a teacher ignores his action, it will not only damage the child’s personality but also perpetuate inequality and a sense of discrimination among other children because they think that being a bully is a good thing, which may also become a motivation for others to adopt such behaviour.

Furthermore, we cannot ignore the fact that encouragement of such actions and a lack of accountability for the wrongdoings result in the destruction of the social fabric of society because the individual remains unaware of the concept of punishment and accountability, and such behaviour contributes to the normalisation of corruption and other moral turpitudes.

In conclusion, I can say that teaching is a wholesome process that is varied from person to person and that must be designed as per the individual’s needs; however, in general, discouraging the negative actions has as much significance as motivating the good ones.