The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

It is generally thought that one of the greatest problem that humanity has currently facing is the continued rise of the world’s population. Even though the coronavirus pandemic has had an impact on the matter, I believe that population in the nearest future have to take care of the issue trying to identify causes and possible solutions.

As far as I am concerned, population growth has affected by (and is linked to) human mortality rate. At the present time, people tend to live more than their ancestors since the habits and conditions of the modern era has had impact on the duration of everyone’s lives. While in the 18th Century, the life expectancy was – for instance, for men – 34 years, nowadays the duration of people’s lives is much longer.

There are several factors that had an effect on people’s condition. For instance, the modern medicine discoveries, especially for treatments of particular disease, have granted people the possibility not only to cure diseases, but also to prevent them. Moreover, there is no doubt that hygiene conditions have changed a lot since decades, impacting on life longevity.

The increase of life expectancy has caused several problems. It is indisputable that since the world is a finite place, the population growth can be hardly manageable in future in terms of life conditions. If conditions decrease (as the same condition of the past), people’s lives will be severely affected. To prevent the worst case scenario, people have to think about solutions in order to grant everyone the same possibilities of living.