The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget. Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system which provides free health services for all? Discuss

Healthcare expenses are rising rapidly, making it is difficult for governments to manage these costs. However, my opinion is that governments are responsible for providing their people with free health service. Because taking good care of citizens is a responsibility of governments.

People pay tax to government from their income. In return, government should improve the facilities provide to them. Healthcare is a basic need of people, and they should have free access to these basic needs. In a country, health is an important factor, which affects the development of that country. For instance, if people are often getting sick, it impacts negatively to country’s economy. Consequently, a poor health system can cause negative impacts on other aspects of a country as well. Therefore, governments need to pay considerable amount of attention to countries’ healthcare budgets.

However, having a private health insurance could be a wise decision. Sometimes, people have to wait for a long time to take free health service. For example, patients have to stay in waiting lists in public hospitals to do an operation. These waiting periods can extend beyond one year. If patients need to do their operations earlier, it is always better to have a private health insurance. This will reduce the risk of spreading disease or losing life.

In conclusion, governments face difficulties managing high healthcare costs. However, it is their responsibility to provide citizens with free health service. Also, having a private health insurance could make the life easier, as patients do not need to stay in waiting lists to take healthcare.