The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A rising in the number of smokers has been increasing over the past few years especially adolescents, although the danger of smoking are well known for a long time, yet many people are still addicted to this habit that would give the smokers with chronic disease such as lung cancer. In this essay, I will give the reason why many people smoke, and the solution to reduce smoking in society.

In my opinion, the main causes of the reason why people addict to smoke is Nicotine, a poisonous chemical found in cigarette that make smokers highly addictive when inhaling. Peers’ and family’s pressure seeing them as portrayal that smoking is cool is also an influence that cause people to start smoking as well. Some people might smoke a cigarette as a stress relief. For example, many teenagers have chosen cigarette as a solution to solve about problems in their life. Recently, there is an electronic cigarette, vape, that target the customer on teenagers because of the convenient of it that they do not need to light a cigarette now, resulting in the increase of smokers.

The best solution to reduce smoking in society is to support having more space of smoke-free zones, work places, and communities. Apart from this to solve this issue would be using alternative cigarette, which has a similar effect but not dangerous unlike the real ones, and if the smokers are teenagers, some restrictions from the parents such as clearly communicating with their child, and keeping tracks of children’s activities that might expose smoking environment.

To conclude, smoking has been addicted by many people bacause of the influence by both environment and their friends. To effectively reduce smoking supporting policy and having support from family is essential.