The differences between countries are becoming less and less evident. People all over the world wear the same fashions, watch the same t.v. channels, use the same brands and have similar eating habits. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is asserted that the differences between countries have been increasingly blurred. This lead to the fact that people now share the same interests, such as the same films, fashion trend, or even TV channels. While not disavowing to the view that this trend might have positive aspects, I contend that the disadvantages can overshadow the advantages.

On the one hand, there are some reasons that explain why proponents argue this trend being beneficial. Firstly, it is argued that by be exposed to products from diverse countries, individuals can be able to acquire more knowledge and be offered insights into cultures and customs around the world. This can effectively facilitate global intergration and international cooperation, which helps citizens reap many benefits in the long run. Another advantage can be an economic growth. It is obvious that when globalization becomes more and more popular, not only can the local merchandise be easily exported, but also tourism is more likely to develop.

On the other hand, it is firmly believed that the shortcoming of this phenomenon should not be overlooked. The most negative consequence is loss of cultural uniqueness. This means local denizens seem to understand more about international customs and practises rather than their own nation’s ones. This is greatly detrimental for a country as it can be prone to assimilatory. For instance, nowadays, many Vietnamese young people celebrate some Western festivals, such as Chrismas or Halloween while they ignore many conventional holidays, including Tet or Hung King festival, which directly put a risk for maintaining sense of cultural identity.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages related to international connectedness and economic development, I am the opinion that the demerit is more notable.