The first time an astronaut arrived at the Moon, he said "It is a big step for mankind". However, some people think it makes a minor impact on our lives. Do you agree or disagree?

The incessant technological proliferation has facilitated humans’s discovery beyond the Earth, and the initial direct Moon approach is no exception. While some regard the aforesaid event as a grandiose breakthrough, it is my fervent contention that this outer-space exposure is nearly futile, by virtue of the following considerations within this essay.

To commence with, while interacting and discovering space may be stimulating, the course demands a great deal of financial assets. One project may encompass educating and training human resources, research, development, and a multitude of other tasks in order to establish and launch it, which, if converted into financial currency, can cost over billions of dollars. That immense amount of funds can instead be reallocated, and ultimately tackle down-to-earth issues that both creatures and nature are suffering from; such as pollution or social evils. By doing those, not only can invested capital eschew counter-productivity, but also the quality of living will be considerably fostered.

Another compelling rationale to dispel the misleading importance of cosmic discoveries lies in their feasibility and validity. For instance, multifarious space missions are said to seek alternative planets with compatibility for human existence. Even if such planets are discovered, the chance of success in human transportation to them is virtually impossible in the light of no proximity as well as inadequately developed technology. Not to mention a considerable number of failed experiments, or accidents in near-vacuum environments, which pose grave ramifications on both humans and the exploration process, like the space shuttle Challenger disaster leading to the deaths of astronauts and the suspension of the program.

While some proponents of the first view might envision space exploration as a means of cosmic dominance, the reality is far more complex. The logistical and technological hurdles of establishing a permanent extraterrestrial presence are immense. Any potential gains would likely be overshadowed by the immense costs and risks involved.

In conclusion, while the exploration of outer space holds a certain allure, the practical realities and potential drawbacks significantly diminish its overall value, and thus the mentioned impact by that one astronaut seems lacking foresight. In lieu of illusory aims, efforts should be put on other pressing problems for the sake of bolstering life on Earth. By prioritizing the needs of humanity on our home planet, we can create a more sustainable and equitable future for all.