The given text tells us about how languages die out and why does it even happen.

The given text tells us about how languages die out and why does it even happen. To begin with, there are nearly 7000 spoken languages worldwide, but the thing is that the amout of individuals who use a particular language varies a lot. For example, there are around 9 million people, who live in Papua New Guinea and these people use over 800 languages, while English is spoken by billions.

Researchers predict that a majority of languages (50-90%) will extinct in next 100 years.

There are a few main reasons why so many languages die out and the first one being globalization. Language/ dialect dies out when new generation stops learning their ancestral language and switch to a dominant one like English. This happens because nowadays everything is global: economics, education etc, so speaking a global language just gives an individual more advantage then using his native one.

“Why is this even a problem?” – you may ask. Losing a language is not losing sime grammar rules and words, it is a loss of unique ways to understand the word. Sometimes, language has some very unique words, what I mean is that it is very hard to explain what this word means using another language. Also, we should not forget that language is highly connected with culture, so by losing a language, we are losing some part of culture.