The government should lower the budget on the arts in order to allocate more money to education. To what extent do you agree?

Public investment in the arts or education has been a conflicting debate for decades. There is a view that governments should prioritize investing in education over the arts. While I believe more government funding for education contributes significantly to its development, the arts also need an increasing level of funding to preserve their relevance in the community.

On the one hand, education plays a crucial role, necessitating more public money to provide a better quality of knowledge. If governments focus on allocating more money to education, schools and other institutes can hire highly experienced teachers and equip students with up-to-date technologies that help them obtain a well-rounded education. This further contributes to establishing highly competitive candidates in job markets and making potential improvements in the local economy. Japan can be a prime example in this case, standing at the highest rank in terms of its quality of education. Government officials usually spend the highest amount of money on education among other public services, which in turn leads to building a thriving economy by producing knowledgeable employees.

On the other hand, I contend that the government should also highlight the importance of giving money to the arts, which otherwise close their doors to the public. When governments diminish the amount of funding that public galleries, museums, and other art centers need to run, these places cannot support themselves financially, which results in them going bankrupt. Because of the necessary investment, the staff working in most art centers receive salaries, and certain renovations and public events can take place, which might increase their cultural values among people.

In conclusion, when it comes to public investment, some individuals consider that education should get more funding than the arts. While investing more in education does help societies create a better quality of education, which in turn develops a more intelligent working class, governments should also allocate a similar amount of money to the arts to preserve their cultural significance for generations ahead, as it is the galleries and museums that reflect our history, culture, and traditions.