The government should provide free public transport 24/7 to reduce traffic congestion. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jam has become a real problem in big cities. In an attempt to address traffic conjunction, some argue that governments should provide free public transport around the clock to solve the issue. The proposal may sounds ideal, I believed that to promote such policy, the government must have considered the alternative way to the concern recently.

Free transit system is a big support to those low-income worker such as factory worker, especially among students, making public transport a financial incentive. Working as a 24/7 transport, making it more accessible to all commuters, reducing private vehicles, improving traffic safety, pollution by reduce carbon emission, provide better air quality.

Despite those advantages, providing zuhours and free of charge mass transport may place a financial constraint on the government budget, which may reduce the amount of transport circulating, that also mean the frequency of the transport systems are decrease, so that the coverage through out the whole big city is only partial and fragmented, is not comprehensive. The policy might be infeasible, for example when something is provided, free of charge, more people will want to use it, there will be more comuters, which means needing more of those services, but how to investing continuously when there are no income and even loss, government can’t cover these every year, especially the rapid population growth. Operation and maintenance cost haven’t been mentioned, before commission, bus stop have to be built, drivers must be hired and of course builders and drivers don’t work for free, furthermore, things get old, damaged or malfunctioning and need to be repair. When less transport, the system may be overloaded during peak hours. 24hourswork is not optimize to solve the congestion, there are barely any human being outside using these at midnight, this is inefficient and waste of human resource.

Inproving is essential but there should be a balance way for both the goverments and residents. Instead of free, subsidize is recommended. 24hours-work can replace by free in the rushing hours or targeted support added to the preferential treatment policy are a better way for a long run.