The government should provide free public transport 24/7 to reduce traffic congestion. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In attempts to handle traffic congestion, some people argue that government should invested in free, 24/7 public transport to reduce traffic jam. Although this approach hear appealing in practical, I firmly believe that government-funding in smooth-controlled and the coverage of public transport system seems a effective way to solve that issue.

On the one hand, free of charge public vehicles could contribute to reduce heavy traffic by attracts more customers among students, low-income workers, especially builders, plummers or workers and the elderly. Moreover, by gaining more users and significantly lower the amount of private vehicles, air quality are improved and reduce the carbon emission in big cities. In additions, around the clock public vehicles benefits for those commuters who work at unnormal hours like midnights.

On the other hand, despite other notable benefits, providing non-profit public transport all the day brings more serious disadvantage than the advantage does. Specifically, this policy will place a heavy burden on national budget and put a big question mark on the way public transport work. If the authorities don’t take money from public transport user, where is the money to fill the budget, and do they have strong financial to afford operation cost of these public transport? As the result, transit system become inefficiently and waste the social resources, including investment, energy and working staff, even in late-night hours. Furthermore, public transport could lose infrastructure quality, the frequences of trip and the most important one-coverage, showing a poor invest allocations by policy makers.

In conclusion, although free public transport help reduce traffic congestion, apply it with 24/7 is infeasible. Instead, it can act as an incentive during peak hours and government should expand roads, limit private vehicle, open walking paths or improve public transport service quality to reduce congestion.