The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum.

Many people now believe that physical education lessons should be a compulsory part of the school curriculum. In my opinion, I agree that introducing more PE lessons and making the subject mandatory will significantly reduce the potential level of obesity in the future.

First and foremost, if students are taking part in more physical education lessons, they will most likely be more physically active, leading to a lower risk of future health problems. Additionally,more PE lessons will enhance the knowledge of students, which will result in students having a sound understanding of health and well-being.

A second reason as to why there should be an increased amount of PE lessons is that most adults who play sports learned these sports from a young age, implying a link between students who play in school being more likely to take part in sports as adults. As a result, this will lead to a healthier society.

A final reason why students should take part in more physical education lessons is that they will have the opportunity to learn more about the importance of a balanced diet. A recent study displayed that individuals who have a strong understanding of what a balanced diet is, are less likely to develop bad dietary habits. This will not only reduce health risks amongst individuals, but it will also allow people to be financially richer, as they will need to spend less money on medical bills.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that making PE lessons mandatory at a young age will significantly reduce the level of obesity. However, I do believe including more PE lessons alone will not solve this problem. The government could also incentivise individuals for maintaining exercise habits.