The health benefits of physical exercise are well-known. Despite this, a lot of people do not exercise regularly. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to encourage them to exercise more often?

Despite well proven advantages of daily workouts, significant number of people do not do it. The reasons range from work to personal discipline. A number of steps could be taken to nudge people to exercise regularly.

There are a number of reasons why individuals fail to do physical activities regularly. First of all, working professionals have a very demanding schedules, leaving them with very little time to exercise. Along with this, most of them travel far from their place of residence for work. In case of women particularly, they have to balance both family and work. Also, some people lack discipline in their daily routine. As a result, they tend to have very erratic schedule. All these factors combined make it difficult for people to workout on a daily basis.

In order to incentivize people to work out regularly, a number of steps can be taken. At an individual level, they can choose to stay near their place of work and utilize saved time to exercise and improve their physical well-being. For students, making physical activities a part of their daily schedule will greatly benefit. Also, individuals can leverage technology to reduce distractions and inculcate a discipline in their personal life. The corporates and governments can conduct regular events to spread awareness about benefits of staying active physically.

To conclude, individuals are failing to exercise on a regular basis. While there are a number of reasons for this, individuals along with government and corporate entities can take proactive steps to help them stay active physically.