The increased world demand for oil and gas made it necessary for locating these resources in remote and untouched natural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these natural areas?

Given the increasing demand for crude oil, countries are seeking ways to maximize extraction with various methods one of which is exploring the untouched lands for such purposes. In my opinion the disadvantages of this trend far outweigh its advantages.

Potential advantages are connected to meeting high energy demand and ensuring economic security. Given their heavy reliance on oil and gas for economic stability, nations seek natural resources as preparation for market fluctuations or natural disruptions. By exploring previously untouched places, countries may secure new resources. As these places are said to be rich in oil and gas, and may store an unprecedented amount of fossil fuels.

Despite its critical role in economic stability, resource exploration comes at the cost of habitat loss. In particular, exploration and extraction of gas and oil bring substantial changes in biodiversity, given the potential risk of water contamination and oil spills during the process. Several catastrophic incidents happened over the past, where oil spills had wiped out local flora and fauna, after which the land had to be left for a long time, ecosystems were unable to recover for decades. Moreover, considering the cost of transportation, the idea seems to be an unsustainable and impractical strategy, as energy price is increasing rapidly transporting crude oil could cost a lot to those considering the extraction in remote areas.

In conclusion, locating oil and gas reserves in untouched lands can give short term economic and competitive gain at the cost of long-term disadvantages, as it poses risk on habitant, biodiversity loss and financial burden. These drawbacks make the idea of relocating hubs to remote places less appealing, which is why I assert that disadvantages outweigh the advantages