The increasing amount of plastic waste is causing severe environmental problems globally. What are the main causes of this issue, and what solutions can be implemented to address it?

The invention of plastic has resulted in a serious deterioration of environmental health worldwide. The main reason for this would be the reckless use of plastic materials. Educating the public about a more sustainable approach is necessary to solve this issue.

Plastic is a highly versatile material that has made our lives much easier. This usefulness has caused an enormous demand and subsequent supply of this substance. But due to its non-biodegradable nature, plastic waste will end up in landfills, where they will suffocate the soil for hundreds of years. Even if plastic is burned, it will release toxic fumes that will lead to air pollution.

Ideally, the obvious solution would be to stop the production of plastic. But this is not a practical solution. Our society has become dependant on this material for some specific purposes. So, it would be better to raise awareness among the people about the mindful use of plastic. The concept of “reuse, reduce and recycle” should be promoted so that we can reduce the amount of plastic waste generated.

In our fast-evolving world, several replacements to plastics have been developed. Research and technology has created many biodegradable plastics like PLA, that are able to degrade under specific conditions. Alternatively, biodegradable materials such as cotton, jute or straw can be employed, wherever possible. For instance, if a person intends to go shopping, they can carry jute bags instead of buying additional plastic bags from the store.

Plastic materials are a leading cause of soil and air pollution worldwide. Hence, the use of plastic materials must be limited and people should be encouraged to make conscious choices and opt for more sustainable options.