The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are several social issues that can be attributed to a shortage of accommodation. While some argue that these consequences can be resolved only by the authorities, I belive that not only the governments but also the cooperation of private sectors and communities play a vital role in dealing with the lack of housing.

On the one hand, only the governments are able to tackle this problem by enacting stricter laws. This is due to the fact that the administrations have the power to regulate how many houses people can possess. Therefore, this can ensure that there is enough accomodation for the citizens. In China, for illustration, the housing regulations are implemented by the governments in Shanghai and Beijing. These laws compel each household to have no more than two houses; thus, mitigating the inadequacy of housing.

Nevertheless, i still oppose this view because it still requires the communities’ compliance and support. Individuals can launch campaigns, encouraging people to comply with the laws and educating general public awareness. Some organizations can invest money to build houses that are affordable for low-income families. As a result, the shortage of accommodation in many metropolises is alleviated through these affordable housing projects. For instance, in Vietnam, charitable organizations cooperate with local authorities to build government-assisted housing for families with limited financial resources; accordingly, this can bring about significant improvements in society.

In conclusion, although only the authorities can address the residential insufficiency, I strongly believe that collaboration from private sectors and communities is also essential and can provide effective solutions to the challenge.