The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the density of the cities and the dramatically growing population create dangerous social consequences. It is widely discussed that only the government can change this situation. I completely agree with the above mentioned statement for two significant reasons, which I describe in the following essay.

Firstly, the excessive urbanization caused the demand for houses and after that runaway prices for property. This implies that the population cannot afford the purchase of a flat or a house and should find an alternative for living in other places, namely in the suburbs of the city or village. As a result, people waste a lot of time going to work or study and probably are lacking in great living conditions. This situation is really terrifying for the population and the next generation although only the government can solve this problem with different methods and offers for people. One of the options is the increasing minimum wage for employers and the regulation of prices for property buying. What is more, the government can help the manufactures with creating living areas for working people near the workplace.

Additionally, the growth of the housing facilities causes the decrease of natural spaces for entertainment and rest in the big cities. It can be explained by replacing parks or gardens with new houses, blocks of flats for new residents, because people need living places. Therefore, the declining number of nature locations leads to environmental issues such as air pollution or greenhouse effect in large cities. Consequently, the government should change infrastructure and save parks and gardens in all areas of the city. and more concretely it is possible to adopt new parts of the city for population resettlement, which can be beneficial by decreasing the city density.

All things considered,the government should set up new city areas, especially near the work, and regulate the minimum wage and house prices. In this way the government prevents hazardous air pollution and growing needs for housing facilities only in the central regions.