The increasing reliance on online communication has led to a decline in face-to-face interactions, particularly among young people. What problems does this pose, and what steps can be taken to encourage more personal communication?

One of the main challenges associated with the current generation is undoubtedly the heavy reliance on technology and digital communication, which affects social interactions and our productivity. This issue is of growing interest due to the wide-ranging consequences it has on our society. In this essay, I will analyse the problem and propose a way to address it.

One significant problem caused by the decrease of face-to-face interactions is its negative effect on mental health. Online interactions are preferred by many because of how easy and low-effort talking to someone can be, but that is also precisely why it leads to feelings of loneliness and isolation. Digital tools often lack the emotional depth found in physical interactions, making them feel very surface-level. Therefore, this trend is seen to have serious implications on an individual’s wellbeing, making it all all the more prevalent in young adults, as they are abandoning a significant aspect of their development– social interaction.

Another consequence of reduced face-to-face interaction is its impact on community cohesion. Young adults become desensitised to the meaning of community when they inaccurately equate their digital experience to ones they could have in person. As mentioned earlier, socialising is a factor that will play throughout life, and when that is abandoned, it inevitably leads to a loss in community, and therefore a loss of self. This occurs because strong communication relies on personal relationships and shared experiences that digital communication cant fully replace.

In conclusion, this trend has contributed to a mental health crisis, and weakens social ties that are necessary at this stage. These issues highlight a need for a solution, and I contend that the government needs to implement more social events, community projects, or clubs to encourage young adults to get out and get hands-on experience. Establishing a more open and less judgemental atmosphere would also greatly attract youth who have retracted into isolation. Ultimately, encouraging meaningful social interaction can benefit both our personal wellbeing, and the wider society.