The increasing reliance on online translation tools is changing how people learn languages. Is this a positive or negative development? How might language education adapt to this change?

These days, an increasing trend is visible in the usage of online translations tools combined with people that use them for learning languages. I strongly believe these developments are positive changes for the whole society because more people can communicate easier with each other and people can understand each other faster.

To begin with, several online translation tools are more reliable than they were in the past. People only used to use the internet for the translation of words or short sentences a few years ago. However, nowadays the internet can translate complete stories or texts without any mistakes. For instance, the chatbot ChatGPT is very accurate and can help people with not only the translation of words, but also with the correct order of sentences and the right usage of grammar. Although people don’t have the complete knowledge about a language anymore, they are still able to talk with each other and I believe that is the most important part of communication.

In addition, complete courses on universities were held in for example English in the past. As a result of less international students, some teachers are trying new translation tools and speak in their native language through a microphone. Artificial Intelligience will automatically translate to the right language, so students will understand the lecture. An example of such a translation tool are the new Apple Airpods Pro. These earphones can directly translate a different language with AI so people from different nations can still communicate with each other.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the increasing trend of online translation tools are positive developments. Although the knowledge of a specific language declines with more reliable translation tools, more people are able to communicate with each other. Furthermore, this increasing trend is also positive for education. More students are able to follow courses in foreign countries and teachers can still speak in their native language.