The increasing reliance on online translation tools is changing how people learn languages. Is this a positive or negative development? How might language education adapt to this change?

Some people argue that the power of internet can replace a lot of professionals or make some skill useless, while other maintain the idea that human touch is necessary and our brain is irreplaiceable. Let’s have a look at this issue once again and look at the arguments from both sides, shall we?

The fact that AI powered tools are everywhere is inevitable. Numerous language school students use it to evaluate and edit their essays, to summarise the material, to prepare for the exams or just memorise new words. Besides, young people now have access to thousands of millions books on various topics on hundreds of languages. Consequently we have all means to find whatever wherever whenever we want. This gives us infinite possibilities and freedom to learn. For instance, when I hear a now word I go to Reverso Context app and look up the meaning, it also gives me ten synonymes and examples with them. Likewise, at the end of the day it automatically add this word or expression to my list and creates tests with four techniques to memorise each word.

In contrast, the prospect of using AI in everyday life can make us more negligent. We can take it for gratitude and stop learning languages, because what is the point of doing that if you can put a bug into your ear and listen to your opponent speech in your native language. However, like calculators are installed in our phones we still do maths in our heads daily, we only delegate complex tasks. Nevertheless, online translators can recognise humain voice, it is far away from translating audios from crawded places where one person speaks over another one. Correspondingly, it seems to be a hard skill to get for a humain as well. Only practice makes perfect.

This topic has endless potential for the discussion and numerous different interpretations arguments on the with sides, we can come to a conclusion. I firmly believe that only humain brain can successfully process information and input it into a different language. Internet doesn’t know about social roles and how to be polite, alongside with cultural norms and references. For example why we say ‘a person’ but also can refer to ‘them’ (because it’s gender neutral).