The increasing reliance on personalized learning platforms in education allows students to learn at their own pace and cater to their individual needs. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The personalized learning platforms has become a highly debated topic in recent years. The question whether students strongly depend on these platforms when studying remains controversial. This essay will discuss there are both advantages as well as serious drawbacks, and I believe that its demerits outweigh the merits.

Proponents of this argument believe that many students can thoroughly investigate the sections which they are really interested in, without any interruption. Moreover, students can efficiently control their pace and amount of learning using these tools. And, in fact, the contents in these platforms would be more abundant and creative than textbooks or contents from a typical classroom, leading students to powerfully concentrate on learning.

Despite it’s advantages, learning which is personally tailored has several disadvantages that should not be neglected. First, students can not examine their object achivement, and they tend to learn easier part of the contents. In addition, individual studying platforms make many students lack of social interaction with their peers. For example, students who studied alone using these platforms could not gently treat other person or wait for friends who fell behind. More importantly, many self learning platforms would not have the standardized curriculum set up and confirmed by many educational experts.

Considering both advantages and disadvantages, it is evident that personalized learning is a double-edged sword. On balance, these useful educational tools should consider the real interpersonal relationship between students and validated knowledge acquisition or curriculum for both properly. Therefore, I believe that potential disadvantages of personalized learning outweigh the advantages.