The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to a decline in critical thinking skills among young adults. What are the reasons for this trend, and what solutions can be implemented to promote media literacy and responsible online engagement?

In this globalised eon, without any qualms, it is accepted that people heavily rely on social media and internet for the daily updates and global events which reduces their rational thinking. This essay will discuss reasons behind this trend and solution.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons behind this trend. Firstly, easy availability of news and majore events from all over the globe through internet. Social networking sites provides the information from all over the world without any delay and problems because of that people tend to be lazy and lost their habbit of reading news paper. Moreover, social media has become biggest distraction for the every individual. Chatting applications take a large amount of time from the day which can be used in more productive work or in study. For instance, a news report published by the Times of India which has shown that 75% of teenagers spends more than five hours on social media and group chatting. Consequently, reduce their performance in the study.

To counter this people can take many rational approaches. individual can choose different way to find information. Internet was never the base of finding knowledge, studetns can do their researches with books, just like in the past. This not only help us to manage our time without any further distraction but also beneficial for our eye sight. Furthermore, elders should promote the old ways to reach the news. Adults follow thier parents footsteps so they can influence children to watch daily news on television or read newspaper rather than scrolling social networking sites.

In conclusion, although heavily dependant on social media may reduce our rational thinking, individual can switch to old way to find information such as books and newspaper.