The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to a decline in critical thinking skills among young adults. What are the reasons for this trend, and what solutions can be implemented to promote media literacy and responsible online engagement?

Critical thinking decreased among young people because of the high independence on following news on scoial media. First reason why this could have happen, is that youth watch a huge number of news in a short period of time. Another reason could be that those information they read online are unreliable. However, teachers and policymakers can give some solutions such as putting screentime limit and ensuring honesty of the news.

First problem is that most of people stopped doing other activities in their day since social media platforms has increased, they waste a big part of their day scrolling on their phones and limited thoughts and opinions of the youth. For example, nowadays teenagers stopped being creative and became lazy to achieve everday tasks. Morever, because anyone can post whatever they want on social media, nothing has become reliable and trustworthy anymore. With the addition of AI, it became so much harder to differentiate between what is honest and what is fake.

One of the possible solutions for those problems, is that educators can create an application for students to limit their social media usage. This will decline the number of hours they spend on their phones, therefore, gaining only importnat information and increasing time they spend to create and innovate other stuff. Additionally, policymakers can monitor the shared news on all platform to ensure that they are trusted news. For Instance, most of social media applications are using a feature that clarify that this content was made using artificial intelligence to warn people that this is not generated by humans.

In conclusion, two essential problems prevent critical thinking are the high usage of mobile phones and the unrealiability of shared news, those could be solved by limiting social media usage and ensuring trustworthiness of news.